Honorary Chaplains

The Fruiterers do not appear to have had a permanent Chaplain until the year 1892. The only member of the Company in Holy Orders before this date, was the Rev. William McCall, 1868 – 1881; whether he acted as Chaplain is not recorded, but probably he did so during the period of his membership.

The first Chaplain, Dean Hole, took a great interest in all branches of horticulture; he retained his honorary office until 1901. The vacancy was not filled until 1910, when the Rev. Canon Edgar Sheppard, D.D., C.V.O., was appointed by the Court.
Source: History of the Worshipful Company of Fruiterers of the City of London. By Arthur William Gould, 1912

Honorary Chaplains from 1892 to Present

2022 - Present The Revd Canon Thomas Woodhouse

2017 - 2022 The Very Reverend Mark Philip John Bonney

1990 - 2017 The Rev Canon Nigel Abbott

1970 - 1990 The Rev James Adams

1951 - 1953 The Rev Canon F H Gillingham

1934 - 1937 The Very Reverend Canon H R L Sheppard CH, DD

1910 - 1921 The Rev Canon Edgar Sheppard CVO, DD

(Sub-Dean of His Majesty's Chapels Royal)

Domestic Chaplain,

Deputy Clerk of the Closet,

Sub-Almoner to the King and Canon of Windsor

1892 - 1901 The Rev Samuel Reynolds Hole

St. Mary Abchurch in the City of London is a Wren Church in which the Company has a stained glass window designed by Lawrence Lee A.R.C.A. in 1976

The Very Reverend Dean Hole
1892 - 1901

The Revd Thomas Woodhouse
2022 - Present